Marcus Dickson » Officers, Trustees, & Committees

Board Members

Marcus Dickson

Committee Member
Photo of Marcus Dickson

Baseball has always been a passion of mine, and the history of the game is also fascinating to me. I play “vintage base ball” at Greenfield Village, a historic village that is part of The Henry Ford, in Dearborn, Michigan. We play using the rules, customs, equipment, and style of play of 1867, including underhand pitching, no gloves, and all the rules of that era when the game was still becoming America’s National Game. At Greenfield Village, I go by the nickname of “Razorback,” in honor of my family’s historical home and farm in Arkansas. I am also a member of the Vintage Base Ball Association, and previously served as a member of VBBA’s Board of Directors (as a Trustee) and of the Rules and Customs Committee, trying to investigate the rules of the early game of base ball, to be sure that we who play by those rules fully understand their meaning.


If you are interested in supporting the VBBA by serving on one of the committees below, please contact the committee chair listed below.

Rules and Customs Committee

The VBBA Rules and Custom Committee shall conduct appropriate historical research into the way the game was played in the mid-nineteenth century and other historical eras and shall share its findings with the Association and member clubs in order to establish and improve historical authenticity. The scope of the committee shall include customs, uniforms, equipment, and conventions as well as the dissemination of and interpretation of rules. Feel free to email the committee with your questions and concerns at

Marketing Committee

Helen DeGeatano

Organizational Structure

Jim Kimnach

East Coast Regional Liaison

John Shanahan

West Coast Regional Liaison

Aaron Staab

Membership Committee

Corky Gaskell

Nominating Committee

Gary Schiappacasse, Doug Ernst, and VBBA Member in Good Standing to be named by the President

Judiciary Committee

John Shanahan, Corky Gaskell, Helen DeGeatano

Communications Committee

Gary Schiappacasse (Chair), Doug Ernst (Newsletter Editor), Dylan Schuster (Webmaster), Doug Ernst, Corky Gaskell, Erik Sjogren (Technology Consultant)

Sideline Interpreter Committee

Gib Young, Doug Ernst

Convention Committee

Gary Schiappacasse (Chair), Corky Gaskell, Dennis Wiegmann