Gary “The Professor” Schiappacasse » Officers, Trustees, & Committees

Board Members

Gary “The Professor” Schiappacasse

Photo of Gary “The Professor” Schiappacasse

State Where You Reside:           Illinois                                                     

Number of Years on the Board and Role(s):  

  • 2014 – 2015 VBBA Trustee
  • 2015 – Present VBBA Vice President

Base Ball Experience:  

I have played, coached, and managed the Chicago Salmon organization for 15 years or more. We have traveled to places as far as Mackinac Island, MI. I have been serving on the VBBA Board since 2014.


I have been married to my wife, Diane for almost 37 years. We have one son, Tim Neutral Schiappacasse, who has played on the Chicago Salmon for 14 years. I am a retired elementary reading specialist, currently keeping busy as Boy Scout leader, and church volunteer, in addition to my Chicago Salmon duties.


If you are interested in supporting the VBBA by serving on one of the committees below, please contact the committee chair listed below.

Rules and Customs Committee

The VBBA Rules and Custom Committee shall conduct appropriate historical research into the way the game was played in the mid-nineteenth century and other historical eras and shall share its findings with the Association and member clubs in order to establish and improve historical authenticity. The scope of the committee shall include customs, uniforms, equipment, and conventions as well as the dissemination of and interpretation of rules. Feel free to email the committee with your questions and concerns at

Marketing Committee

Helen DeGeatano

Organizational Structure

Jim Kimnach

East Coast Regional Liaison

John Shanahan

West Coast Regional Liaison

Aaron Staab

Membership Committee

Corky Gaskell

Nominating Committee

Gary Schiappacasse, Doug Ernst, and VBBA Member in Good Standing to be named by the President

Judiciary Committee

John Shanahan, Corky Gaskell, Helen DeGeatano

Communications Committee

Gary Schiappacasse (Chair), Doug Ernst (Newsletter Editor), Dylan Schuster (Webmaster), Doug Ernst, Corky Gaskell, Erik Sjogren (Technology Consultant)

Sideline Interpreter Committee

Gib Young, Doug Ernst

Convention Committee

Gary Schiappacasse (Chair), Corky Gaskell, Dennis Wiegmann