Darrin Tenney » Officers, Trustees, & Committees

Board Members

Darrin Tenney

Committee Member
Photo of Darrin Tenney

Imagine what Arizona was like in the 19th Century prior to statehood. Now imagine how the young game of baseball may have looked on dusty desert fields in the middle of nowhere. How did it get started there, who played it and where was it played? Arizona SABR Flame Delhi chapter member John Darrin Tenney looked for answers to these previously little-researched questions and the result is Baseball in Territorial Arizona.

Through contemporary newspaper accounts culled from 27 territorial Arizona newspapers, Tenney has identified 36 organized baseball clubs that played for sport, recreation and entertainment during Arizona’s formative years. Baseball in Territorial Arizona instantly becomes an important reference for historians of baseball and Arizona. The book is richly illustrated with photos of many of the teams discussed as well as historic views of game action.


If you are interested in supporting the VBBA by serving on one of the committees below, please contact the committee chair listed below.

Rules and Customs Committee

The VBBA Rules and Custom Committee shall conduct appropriate historical research into the way the game was played in the mid-nineteenth century and other historical eras and shall share its findings with the Association and member clubs in order to establish and improve historical authenticity. The scope of the committee shall include customs, uniforms, equipment, and conventions as well as the dissemination of and interpretation of rules. Feel free to email the committee with your questions and concerns at rulesandcustoms@vbba.org.

Marketing Committee

Helen DeGeatano

Organizational Structure

Jim Kimnach

East Coast Regional Liaison

John Shanahan

West Coast Regional Liaison

Aaron Staab

Membership Committee

Corky Gaskell

Nominating Committee

Gary Schiappacasse, Doug Ernst, and VBBA Member in Good Standing to be named by the President

Judiciary Committee

John Shanahan, Corky Gaskell, Helen DeGeatano

Communications Committee

Gary Schiappacasse (Chair), Doug Ernst (Newsletter Editor), Dylan Schuster (Webmaster), Doug Ernst, Corky Gaskell, Erik Sjogren (Technology Consultant)

Sideline Interpreter Committee

Gib Young, Doug Ernst

Convention Committee

Gary Schiappacasse (Chair), Corky Gaskell, Dennis Wiegmann