Bruce Leith » Officers, Trustees, & Committees

Board Members

Bruce Leith

Photo of Bruce Leith

State Where You Reside:           Maryland                

Number of Years on the Board and Role(s):  

  • 2015-Present VBBA Trustee

Base Ball Experience:  

I founded the Elkton Eclipse in 2005 and have been a charter member/player ever since. The Eclipse have won 7 Maryland State Championships and 3 MAVBBL Championships since then. We have traveled near and far from Boston to Tennessee and typically play a 40+ game schedule each year. We have started many clubs in the Mid-Atlantic region and started the Mid Atlantic Vintage Base Ball League which now has 24 clubs from Rhode Island to Virginia. In 2008, we co-hosted the national VBBA Convention in Baltimore. Each year we manage and promote the Gettysburg National 19th Century Base Ball Festival and assist with several other smaller events. We have won Best of Maryland and many other awards in our 10 seasons.


If you are interested in supporting the VBBA by serving on one of the committees below, please contact the committee chair listed below.

Rules and Customs Committee

The VBBA Rules and Custom Committee shall conduct appropriate historical research into the way the game was played in the mid-nineteenth century and other historical eras and shall share its findings with the Association and member clubs in order to establish and improve historical authenticity. The scope of the committee shall include customs, uniforms, equipment, and conventions as well as the dissemination of and interpretation of rules. Feel free to email the committee with your questions and concerns at

Marketing Committee

Helen DeGeatano

Organizational Structure

Jim Kimnach

East Coast Regional Liaison

John Shanahan

West Coast Regional Liaison

Aaron Staab

Membership Committee

Corky Gaskell

Nominating Committee

Gary Schiappacasse, Doug Ernst, and VBBA Member in Good Standing to be named by the President

Judiciary Committee

John Shanahan, Corky Gaskell, Helen DeGeatano

Communications Committee

Gary Schiappacasse (Chair), Doug Ernst (Newsletter Editor), Dylan Schuster (Webmaster), Doug Ernst, Corky Gaskell, Erik Sjogren (Technology Consultant)

Sideline Interpreter Committee

Gib Young, Doug Ernst

Convention Committee

Gary Schiappacasse (Chair), Corky Gaskell, Dennis Wiegmann